

Committee on Coordinators of Surgical Education

History and Background

The Committee on Coordinators of Surgical Education (Coordinators/Administrators Committee) became a standing committee of the ASE in 1998 at the annual meeting in Vancouver.

The Coordinators Committee meets during the ASE portion of the Surgical Education Week and conducts their annual meeting in conjunction with a career development program. The Coordinators also have social/networking opportunities during surgical education week, and all Coordinators are welcome to attend - registration is required. This programming track has grown from an afternoon session to 4-days of Coordinators' specific programming.

The Coordinators Committee has two executive officer positions; chair and vice chair. Each serves a two year term and promotes to the next position (vice chair to chair). In addition, the committee has six sub-committees chairs; Certification, Clerkship 101, Communications, Handbook, Membership, Networking. The Chair, Vice Chair and Sub-Committee Chairs comprise the ASE CCSE Executive Planning Committee; the committee which plans the ASE CCSE Annual Meeting each year.

The following Coordinators have devoted their time and talents as Chair of the Committee on Coordinators of Surgical Education:

1998-1999:	Janet Felts, University of Kentucky
1999-2001:	Janie Boyer, Medical College of Ohio
2001-2002:	Ann O'Hearn, Jefferson Medical College
2002-2004:	Rhonda Peavy, Creighton University
2004-2005:	Tracy Milkowski, Medical College of Wisconsin
2005-2007:	Doris Leddy, Columbia University
2007-2009:	Sherry Weitz, Jefferson University
2009-2011:	Christie Legler, University of Wisconsin
2011-2013:	Trisha Arbella, Johns Hopkins University
2013-2015:	Terri MacDougall, Western University (Canada)
2015-2017:	Lureye Myers, Penn State University
2017-2019:	Cate Unruh, University of Iowa
2019-Present:	Lindsay Gluf-Magar, Michigan State University